Child Development

Child Development

QUALIFICATION OPTIONS: OCR Level 1/2 Cambridge National Certificate in Child Development.
This qualification is for students aged 14 – 16 who wish to develop applied knowledge and practical skills in child development.

Ms N Pollitt

Unit 1
All students will learn the essential knowledge and understanding for child development, covering reproduction, parental responsibility, antenatal care, birth, postnatal checks, care, conditions for development, childhood illnesses and child safety.

Unit 2
In unit 2, students will gain knowledge of the equipment needs of babies and young children and an understanding of the factors to be considered when choosing appropriate equipment to meet all of these needs. They will also gain knowledge of nutrition and hygiene practices and will be given the opportunity to evaluate dietary choices.

Unit 3
In unit 3, students will gain knowledge of, and skills in, developing activities to observe development norms in children up to the age of five. This unit will include researching, planning, carrying out activities with children and observing and reviewing these activities, as well as an understanding of the development norms and the benefits of play in child development.